Gior Notes from Long Ago?

I was an admin on this forum in it's third incarnation almost ten years ago and kept all my notes.

Once development submissions have been approved and put up in the Lore wiki, they can be archived here.
Mochi
Topics: 6
Race: Writer
Writer Profile: Writer Profile

Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:31 am

In looking for my old Thorns things, I came across a google doc where I had a bunch of notes that I had come up with for Gior since there was little to no information on it and I was the only person playing a character that came from there, so I kind of took over Gior specifically at the time. Since I have it and it was never written anywhere that was carried over, to my knowledge, I figure I might as well drop it here. It deals mostly with funerary practices and worship, and lightly with the economy and exports and other random bits and bobs. I'm not sure if it meshes or clashes with anything that has been established since, but here it is all the same.
Funerary Practices
  • Mourning colour is black. It is expected of the remaining family to dress all in black at the funeral and for a suitable time following. Some elect to have mourning rings or other jewelry crafted out of jet as a symbol of their loss, and also a tribute to the deceased.
  • Funerary practices are cremation atop a pyre at a high point in the city. This is thought to allow the dead to return to Imaan on the wind. The bodies are burned until nothing but ash remains, and the family of the deceased and those close to them are obligated to stay by the pyre until the process is finished. This can take nearly a day. The pyre is generally lit by next of kin (spouse, sibling, parent, or child), or if no next of kin is available, a close friend may be named in the will. If the deceased died in a manner that means the body cannot be recovered, then possessions belonging to them or another representation of them is burned instead.